Using Windows User state migration tool

Posted by Diezel on Wed, 2006-08-16 13:00

Managing large networks with Windows desktops can sometimes
be a hassle, at least when 10 users might be using the same desktop, when you
update you have to copy every single users settings and email etc to a new
desktop. This is where the User State Migration Tool comes to rescue. You can
migrate user setting in just about any scenario possible.

In this article I will try to show you some of the basic
scenarios in using USMT. This is just a short article and there is a lot more
you can do with USMT. I wrote this to have a cheat sheet of the usage somewhere
public.

The USMT is a free tool provided by Microsoft, it works much
in the same way the files and settings transfer wizard does. The idea in using
USMT is that the administrator does not have to login as the user to the
workstation to migrate the user also we can migrate more than one user from a
computer.

I’ll show you 3 different scenarios that I’ve been forced to
use. All of them would have been a lot more hassle if the USMT wasn’t
available.

First of all I installed USMT on my workstation, after that
I moved the C:USMT folder to a public area of a locally public network
server, this ensures me that I can access USMT from any workstation in our
network when I need it. I can use the command line “net use” or mount the
network drive with Windows Explorer, anyway I’ll get the binaries to the
workstation easily without any installation. I also published a temporary store
for the profiles I might migrate on the same server. So shortly the serverUSMT and servermigration
is now available to me whenever I need it.

USMT basically works with two commands, scanstate to migrate
the user information and loadstate to import the users settings.

Now let’s take a look at a few of the scenarios.

Read more at www.nixadmins.net

Leave a Reply

