A sysadmin toolbox for Web site maintenance

By Susan Linton on July 05, 2007 (9:00:00 AM)

I run a small but fairly active Web site from a home server, as was commonly done back in the early days of the World Wide Web. What started as a learning project soon grew to be my primary hobby. It takes a bit of knowledge of Linux systems, various open sourced applications, and how the Internet works to start a Web site from scratch. Here are some of the applications and tools that help me stay on top of things.

A stable and reliable operating system is the foundation of any server. I used Gentoo Linux at first, but soon learned that a source-based distribution wasn’t the best choice for a Web server with my system’s limited resources. I switched to Debian GNU/Linux and have never looked back. It was easy to set up and has been even easier to maintain. As a bonus, my server runs better; memory and CPU management is much more efficient under Debian than I experienced with my homebrewed Gentoo.

Read more at Linux.com

Leave a Reply

